National Admissions Test for Law (LNAT)

The National Admissions Test for Law (LNAT) is a standardized test used as part of the admissions process for undergraduate law programmes. It is run by a consortium of UK universities in partnership with Pearson VUE.

The test's format and level are kept under review and its impact is closely monitored. LNAT Consortium Ltd is committed to widening participation in higher education and regards the LNAT as a possible aid to identifying untapped academic potential appropriate to degree-level legal education. Different participating universities may use the results of the LNAT in different ways and to different extents, but all regard the LNAT as just one element in a well-rounded admissions system. School-level qualifications, such as A-levels and their global equivalents, remain central to the selection process.

The LNAT is a two-hour test which is divided into two sections:

Multiple-Choice Section (80 minutes)
The multiple-choice section consists of 10 passages, with 3 multiple-choice questions on each. The questions are designed to test powers of verbal comprehension and verbal reasoning ability. The questions do not require knowledge of any subject except for the English language. The questions typically ask for terms and arguments from the reading to be defined by inference.

Essay Section (40 minutes)
The essay section gives the candidate a choice of questions on a range of subjects. It tests the ability of the candidate to argue economically to a conclusion and to show a good command of written English. The questions are open-ended topics typically about student related issues or other familiar topics. The essays are passed unmarked to those LNAT-participating law schools to which the candidate has applied. The essays will be used by each university in the way that best suits its own admissions system.

The whole of the LNAT is conducted on-screen. Because some candidates might otherwise benefit from better keyboard skills, and to encourage more economical writing, Each essay is expected to be between 600 and 700 words.

The LNAT must be taken by all applicants applying to law at the following universities:

  • University of Birmingham

  • University of Bristol

  • Durham University

  • University of Exeter

  • University of Glasgow

  • King's College London

  • University of Nottingham

  • University of Oxford

  • University College London

Note that LNAT results are valid only for the year in which you take the test. If you reapply to any of the participating universities in a subsequent year then you will need to retake the LNAT.

You may also be interested in reading background information on psychometric tests and aptitude tests.

Pass Aptitude Tests
FREE Offer